Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics

Live Event Coming:

Refocus-ED MT

Refocus-ED MT.pdf
MCubed Short Advertisement 2020

2019 Dean Preble Award Winner

The Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics (MCTM) is proud to announce Fred Longhart, Flathead Valley Community College (FVCC) mathematics instructor, as 2019 recipient of the Dean Preble Memorial Award. Mr. Longhart will receive his award at the MCTM annual meeting in Belgrade on Friday October 18 in association with the Montana Federation of Public Employees statewide teacher convention. Fred was nominated for this award by Don Hickethier of FVCC.

The Dean Preble Memorial is MCTM’s most prestigious recognition and is awarded annually to a Montana educator who has made significant lifetime contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics statewide. Preble awardees are those that have consistently assumed a leadership role among math educators. Teacher-leaders at all levels, kindergarten through university, are eligible.

This award is given in memory of longtime MCTM member Dean Preble of Forsyth, who passed away from cancer in the fall of 1998. Dean was recognized for his unfailing support for mathematics education in the state of Montana. His dedication to the mathematics teaching profession, his love of his students, his involvement in state and national mathematics organizations, and his devotion to the improvement of mathematics education for all were unparalleled.

Mr. Longhart is recognized for a long and distinguished career as a mathematics educator both at FVCC and Flathead High School in Kalispell. During his time at Flathead High Fred was known for his commitment to incorporating technology, particularly graphing calculators, in the teaching and learning of mathematics. He was a longtime instructor for Texas Instruments and travelled countrywide presenting workshops on best practices in the teaching of mathematics and the use of technology. Mr. Longhart was also very active as a leader in MCTM serving on the Board of Directors and as President of the organization. In 1995 Mr. Longhart travelled to Washington DC to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. This award, presented by the White House, is the nation’s highest honor for K-12 math teachers.

The MCTM selection committee is honored to recognize Mr. Longhart both for his leadership role in math education and for his commitment to providing thousands of students the best possible math instruction.